Jan Bartos

April 11 | Jan Bartoš with Štátna filharmónia Košice

The concert "Freedom and Oppression – Death and Redemption" features significant works by Beethoven, Ullmann, Penderecki, and Strauss, showcasing themes of heroism and human triumph. Viktor Ullmann's Piano Concerto, created before his deportation to Terezín, blends classical and modern elements with unique tonality. Penderecki's "Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima" shifts focus to sonoristic effects to honour atomic bomb victims. Richard Strauss's "Death and Transfiguration" explores the aspiration for high ideals through death. This concert, marking the 80th anniversary of the Jewish deportation from Košice, is supported by the British Council and the Jewish Religious Community Košice, reflecting on a tragic historical event while celebrating the resilience of the human spirit through music.


- L. van Beethoven, "Leonore Overture No. 3," Op. 72b
- V. Ullmann, "Piano Concerto," Op. 25
- K. Penderecki, "Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima for 52 String Instruments"
- R. Strauss, "Death and Transfiguration," Op. 24